Hatton tops wild night at Angell Park

Feature Win#34 at the track

HattonBy Bryan Gapinski
Sun Prairie, Wis., May 27---Scott Hatton captured the 30-lap Stark Automotive Group/Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series feature, Sunday Night at Angell Park Speedway. The victory was the 34th feature victory at the track for the Roscoe, Ill. driver, placing him fifth on the tracks all-time feature win list. Hatton now only trails Dan Boorse (66); Billy Wood (51); Kevin Olson (46); and Kevin Doty (37).
A wild start at the feature saw rookie driver Vance Lein and Hunter Imhoff flipping entering Turn One on the opening lap, with Jim Fuerst flipping at the same time on the backstretch. A short delay took place to repair the fence and transport Imhoff to a local hospital for undisclosed injuries.
Mike Hess jumped into the lead at the start, while fast qualifier Jerry Coons Jr, was quickly moving from the 13th starting position. Coons passed four cars on the opening lap. Second place running Bubba Altig slowed on Lap 5, bringing out the caution. On the restart Hatton passed Hess for the lead, with Coons running fifth. Two laps later Hatton's teammate Brandon Waelti moved into second place, with Coons now holding in third place. Debris slowed the race on Lap 18.
On the restart Coons made charge for the lead on Hatton but jumped the cushion in Turn 3 one lap later flipping, escaping injury. The restartsaw Waelti stay on Hatton's rear bumper but couldn't pull off a pass for the lead trailing Hatton by one-car length at the finish. Hess, Danny Stratton, and Cody Wisensel completed the top five.
"Everyone on the team did a great job preparing this car" said Hatton driving the Huston Solution owned Stealth/Fontana No. 1 finished one-car length ahead of Waelti, Hess, Danny Stratton and Cody Wisensel. Stratton holds a 57-point lead over Daniel Robinson heading into the June 10 event at Angell Park Speedway.
Scott Crawford led the entire distance winning the 15-lap Badger 600 Micro Series feature, finishing ahead of Jason Tetrault, Chad Bogar, Bill Truskey, Jason Dull and Preston Benisch.

30-lap Feature: 1. Scott Hatton; 2. Brandon Waelti; 3. Mike Hess; 4. Danny Stratton; 5. Cody Wisensel; 6. Daniel Robinson; 7 David Budres; 8. Travis Berryhill; 9. Davey Ray; 10. Riley Emmel; 11. Jerry Coons Jr.; 12. Jake Blackhurst; 13. Kurt Mayhew; 14. Bubba Altig; 15. Robbie Ray; 16. Johnny Murdock; 17. Jim Fuerst; 18. Vance Lein; 19. Hunter Imhoff; 20. Bryon Walters.

10-lap Heat Race Winners: Budres, Stratton, Hess.
4-lap Non-Qualifers Race Winner: Mayhew.
Fast Time: Coons, 14.491 seconds
Cars Present: 21 Feature Lap Leaders: Hess 1-5, Hatton 6-30.
*Coons flipped in third heat race, Lein, Imhoff, Fuerst flipped on Lap 1 of feature, Coons flipped on Lap 19 of feature. Imhoff transported for treatment of undisclosed injuries.

Current Badger Midget Series points: 1. Danny Stratton 267; 2. Daniel Robinson 210; 3. Bubba Altig 199; 4. Jake Blackhurst 198; 5. Scott Hatton 195; 6. Davey Ray 164; 7. Brandon Waelti 156; 8. Mike Hess 142; 9. David Budres 139; 10. Cody Wisensel 91.