Larson kickoffs Speed Week with Jacksonville victory

Jacksonville, Ill., June 6—Kyle Larson kicked off POWRi Racing's four-events-in-four-nights Speed Week on Thursday Night at Jacksonville Speedway.The event was co-sanctioned by the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series and Stark Automotive Group/Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series.

Larson led all 30-laps in Keith Kunz Motorsports' Toyota-powered Bullet No. 71k to take the checkered flag by six-car lengths over Darren Hagen. Exiting turn four on the Lap 15, Larson bounced off a lapped car that had spun, erasing his quarter-lap lead, but was able to keep the lead when the race slowed for caution.

"I plowed into the car," Larson said. "I hurt my car pretty bad, it was bouncing around and tough to drive. But the car was still good even with bent parts. I hadn't driven a Midget in a while and it's always a lot of fun to race in a Midget with POWRi."

Following Larson and Hagen were: Badger points leader Brad Kuhn, Larson's teammate Christopher Bell and Austin Brown. The opening event of the inaugural Speed Week drew 49-cars, and continues Friday at Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway, Saturday at Macon (Ill.) Speedway and Sunday at Vermillion County Speedway (Danville, Ill.).


30-lap Feature: 1. Kyle Larson, 2. Darren Hagen, 3. Brad Kuhn, 4. Christopher Bell, 5. Austin Brown, 6. Rico Abreu, 7 Michael Pickens, 8. Jerry Coons Jr., 9. Andrew Felker, 10. Jake Blackhurst, 11. Terry Babb, 12. Alex Bright, 13. Danny Stratton, 14. Tyler Thomas, 15. Zach Daum, 16. Casey Shuman, 17. Tanner Thorson, 18. Justin Allgaier, 19. Brad Mosen, 20. Seth Motsinger, 21. Brandon Waelti, 22. Colten Cottle, 23. Justin Peck.


Semi Feature Winners: Pickens, Daum.

Heat Race Winners: Thorson, Felker, Coons, Bell, Kuhn, Abreu.

Cars Present: 49 Feature Lap Leaders: Larson 1-30.