Pickens wire-to-wire at Lincoln

Lincoln, Ill., June 7—New Zealand's Michael Pickens won Friday Night's 30-lap feature at Lincoln Speedway .The event was co-sanctioned by the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series and Stark Automotive Group/Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series. The second event of the inaugural Speed Week drew 47-cars.

Pickens jumped into the lead from the pole position and easily increased his lead over the field. Two cautions on Laps 23 and 27 bunched up the field erasing Pickens lead. On the final restart Pickens pulled away from the field as tight racing occurred for the top ten positions. POWRi points leader Andrew Felker finished second followed by Christopher Bell, Tyler Thomas and Zach Daum.
"What an awesome car," Pickens said. "I have to thank my team for giving me a bullet race car. On the restarts, I pushed away from those guys for a couple of laps and then tried not to make mistakes. The lapped traffic was hard to clear because I wasn't lapping slow guys." Pickens drove the Bill Buckley-owned BSL Racing Breka-Esslinger No. 1nz. Racing continues Saturday at Macon (Ill.) Speedway and Sunday at Vermillion County Speedway (Danville, Ill.).


30-lap Feature: 1. Michael Pickens, 2. Andrew Felker, 3. Chris Bell, 4. Tyler Thomas, 5. Zach Daum, 6. Darren Hagen, 7. Tanner Thorson, 8. Casey Shuman, 9. Rico Abreu, 10. Jerry Coons Jr., 11. Dereck King, 12. Danny Stratton, 13. Nick Knepper, 14. Garrett Aitken, 15. Brad Mosen, 16. Daniel Adler, 17. Austin Brown, 18. Jake Blackhurst, 19. Terry Babb, 20. Ryan Criswell, 21. Justin Peck, 22. Brad Kuhn, 23. Tim Siner.

Semi Feature Winners: Siner, Kuhn.

Heat Race Winners: Daum, Thomas, Pickens, Felker, Knepper, Brown.

Cars Present: 47 Feature Lap Leaders: Pickens 1-30.