Clauson tops Belleville Bash finale

Belleville, Ill. July 6---Bryan Clauson scored a thrilling victory, Saturday Night, winning the 30-lap "Belleville Bash" feature at Belle-Clair Speedway. The event was tri-sanctioned by the USAC Honda National Midget, POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget and Stark Automotive Group/Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series.
Jerry Coons jumped into the lead at the start, over pole sitter Brad Kuhn, both drivers had earlier in the night won heat and qualifying races to set the field as forty-nine cars competed in the event. Coons was followed by Kuhn, and Clauson. Clauson passed Kuhn for second position before the midway point.
Clauson closed to Coons' rear bumper when the caution appeared on Lap 23. Another caution appeared before the lap could be completed for a stalled car. On the restart Coons led Clauson as the pair ran the high side of the track. Coons slid up the cushion, with three laps remaining, giving Clauson the lead. Clauson driving the Tucker/BCI/Curb-Agajanian owned Spike/Ford-Esslinger No. 39 finished 0.740 seconds ahead of Coons, Kuhn, Tracy Hines and Christopher Bell.
POWRi and Badger will co-sanction the Saturday July 13 event at the Wilmot (Wis.) Raceway, Seventh annual "Salute to Harry Turner". The following evening action moves to Angell Park Speedway (Sun Prairie, Wis.), for the "77th Anniversary Season" race for Badger at the famed 1/3-mile oval. Next for USAC Midgets, will be a July 27 event at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis.

30-lap Feature: 1. Bryan Clauson, 2. Jerry Coons, Jr., 3. Brad Kuhn, 4. Tracy Hines, 5. Chris Bell, 6. Daniel Robinson, 7. Zach Daum, 8. Andrew Felker, 9. Tanner Thorson, 10. Danny Stratton, 11. Austin Brown, 12. Tim Siner, 13. Parker Price-Miller, 14. Garrett Aitken, 15. Tyler Robbins, 16. Daniel Adler, 17. Jake Blackhurst, 18. Shane Cottle, 19. Justin Grant, 20. Alex Bright, 21. Caleb Armstrong, 22. Seth Motsinger, 23. Darren Hagen, 24. Derrick Myers, 25. Nick Knepper, 26. Colten Cottle.

12-lap Qualifying Race Winners: Kuhn, Coons, Brown, Clauson.
10-lap Heat Race Winners: Hines, Clauson, Grant, Coons, Kuhn, Brown.
10-lap Qualifying Race Winners: Siner, Adler.
Cars Present: 49, Feature Lap Leaders: Coons 1-27, Clauson 28-30.